Part of an active and vital Department of Music within the strong Lamar D. Fain College of Fine Arts (Music, Theatre, Mass Communication, and Art), the piano program at Midwestern State University offers Private and Classroom instruction leading to two degrees:

Bachelor of Music: Keyboard Performance

Bachelor of Music with Teacher Certification

Students in both programs study with senior keyboard faculty. Emphasis in the keyboard performance major is placed on performance techniques and practice, keyboard literature, vocal and instrumental accompanying, and pedagogy. The teacher certification program focuses on educational methods and psychology for classroom teaching, balanced with quality performance skills. All students have the opportunity for chamber music, including piano duets, 2-piano music, and small chamber ensemble.

Music scholarships at Midwestern State University annually total over $50,000 and are awarded to deserving music majors. Appointments for auditions can be made by calling the MSU Music Department Office at (940) 397-4789.

Keyboard Faculty:

 Dr. Ruth Morrow, Dolores P. Bolin and D. Phil and Aurora S. Bolin Distinguished Chair of Piano, Professor of Music. Private study of piano and harpsichord, piano pedagogy, keyboard literature, vocal and instrumental accompanying, keyboard performance, music history, and music literature.

 Dr. Ronald Hough, Professor Emeritus– Adjunct. Private study of organ & Strings

 Mr. Gary Lewis, Associate Professor of Music. Piano classes and music appreciation.

 Dr. Susan Harvey, Assistant Professor of Music. Music Education, piano classes for majors.



The Dolores P. Bolin Distinguished Chair of Piano was established in 1981 through the generous gift of Mrs. Bolin in memory of her husband, Wichita Falls oilman, D. Houston Bolin.  In 2000, a second chair was established through a generous gift from D. Phil and Aurora S. Bolin.  These endowments allow Midwestern State University to enhance its high level of pianistic and musical excellence.  Past Bolin Chairs were Dr. Peter Armstrong, Julie Bees, and Nancy Boston.