2015-16 Production Season

 

She Kills Monsters

by Qui Nguyen

She Kills Monsters tells the story of Agnes Evans as she leaves her childhood home following the death of her teenage sister, Tilly. Agnes finds Tilly's "Dungeons and Dragons" notebook and stumbles into a journey of discovery and action-packed adventure in the imaginary world that was Tilly's refuge. In this high-octane dramatic comedy laden with homicidal fairies, nasty ogres, and 90s pop culture, young playwright Qui Nguyen offers a heart-pounding homage to the geek and warrior within us all.

  • Dates and Times
    Thursday to Saturday, October 1 to 3 at 7:30 p.m.
    Sunday, October 4 at 2:30 p.m.
    Friday to Saturday, October 9 to 10 at 7:30 p.m.
    Sunday, October 11 at 2:30 p.m.
  • Location
    Fain Fine Arts Center Theatre

Summer and Smoke

by Tennessee Williams

A play that is profoundly affecting, Summer and Smoke is a simple love story between a somewhat puritanical Southern girl and a non-puritanical young doctor. Each is attracted to the other, but each is driven away from the other because of their divergent attitudes toward life. Not until the end does the doctor realize that the girl's high idealism is ultimately right.

  • Dates and Times
    Thursday to Saturday, November 12 to 14 at 7:30 p.m.
    Sunday, November 15 at 2:30 p.m.
    Friday to Saturday, November 20 to 21 at 7:30 p.m.
    Sunday, November 22 at 2:30 p.m.
  • Location
    Fain Fine Arts Center Theatre

A Memory, a Monologue, a Rant, and a Prayer

by Eve Ensler

MSU Theatre's Pi Delta chapter of Alpha Psi Omega presents a collection of monologues by various writers from the Until The Violence Stops festival created by the V-Day Movement. All ticket sales will be donated to First Step, Inc. of Wichita Falls.

  • Dates and Times
    Friday to Saturday, February 12 to 13 at 7:30 p.m.
  • Location
    Bea Wood Studio Theatre

Lysistrata

by Aristophanes

Frustrated at the ongoing violence of the civil war, Lysistrata convinces the women of Athens to withhold sex from their husbands until a peace treaty is signed. Aristophanes was astonishingly ahead of his time with this play, which is possibly his greatest and most enduring comedy.

  • Dates and Times
    Thursday to Saturday, March 3 to 5 at 7:30 p.m.
    Sunday, March 6 at 2:30 p.m.
    Friday to Saturday, March 11 to 12 at 7:30 p.m.
    Sunday, March 13 at 2:30 p.m.
  • Location
    Fain Fine Arts Center Theatre

Festival of Student-Produced One-Act Plays

  • Dates and Times
    Friday to Saturday, April 15 to 16 at 7:30 p.m.
    Friday to Saturday, April 22 to 23 at 7:30 p.m.
  • Location
    Bea Wood Studio Theatre