Welcome to MSU Respiratory Care

 540137_466627090036499_950798708_n.jpg

 

Respiratory Care Practitioner (RCP) is a licensed individual trained in providing care to patients with heart and lung disorders.  There are more than 100,000 RCPs in the United States.  RCPs work in hospitals; transitional care facilities, nursing homes, home health agencies, specialized care hospitals and physician's offices.  Patients who receive care from an RCP range in age from new borns to the most senior members of society.  Respiratory Care Practitioners are trained in the diagnostic evaluation of lung function and therapeutic procedures that help maintain good lung health.

 

Our Mission

The Respiratory Care Program at Midwestern State University is dedicated to providing state of the art instruction emphasizing clinical practice based on scientific inquiry and meeting the needs of a diverse healthcare community.  The educational framework focuses on the unique skills of the respiratory therapist and emphasizes the importance of life long learning to the healthcare professional.  The program provides a student centered undergraduate educational experience based on a strong liberal arts foundation and strives to prepare graduates to embrace ethical practice, reflect competence in clinical skill, and display professional conduct.

 

Our Goal 

To prepare graduates with demonstrated competence in the cognitive (knowledge), psychomotor (skills), and affective (behavior) learning domains of respiratory care practice as performed by registered respiratory therapists. 

 

The respiratory care program at Midwestern State University is accredited through the Commission on Accreditation for Respiratory Care.

See www.coarc.com.  Outcomes data:  www.coarc.com/47.html

M.S.U. offers two points of entry into the
Bachelors of Science in Respiratory Care (BSRC) degree program: 
Entry to BSRC & Registered Respiratory Therapist to BSRC (RRT-to-BSRC)

 

Faculty:

Jennifer Gresham MA, RRT-NPS
Program Chair
(940) 397-4656
jennifer.gresham@mwsu.edu

Tammy Kurszewski 
MEd, RRT
Clinical Chair
(940) 397-4546
tammy.kurszewski@mwsu.edu

Patrick Helton MS, RRT-NPS, RPFT
Assistant Professor
(940) 397-4654
patrick.helton@mwsu.edu

Randy Case MA, RRT
Assistant Professor
(940) 397-4653
randy.case@mwsu.edu

Erica Judie MA, RRT
Assistant Professor
(940) 397-4642
erica.judie@mwsu.edu

Ann Medford MA, RRT-NPS
Professor Emeritus
ann.medford@mwsu.edu

 

Secretaries:

Christina Nugent
Secretary II
(940) 397-4652
christina.nugent@mwsu.edu

Amanda Shirey
Secretary I
(940) 397-4939
amanda.shirey@mwsu.edu