Everything you need to know about understanding your bill, making your payments, and getting refunds is available through this site. As students and parents, you will be conducting business with our office over the next several years. We would like to make your experience a pleasant one. In order to alleviate confusion about payment schedules, payment methods, and other important issues, we have created a web-site packed with useful information.
The business office is responsible for billing and collecting tuition, fees, campus housing, and other university-related charges. The office also invoices third-party agencies, audits MSU student accounts, and processes student refunds. Our office is also responsible for processing deposits for university departments. We hope you find the information here useful. We are also interested in your experiences and welcome any feedback.
Business Office Hours (Spring/Fall)
Teller Windows: 8:15 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Monday - Friday
Teller Windows: 7:15 a.m. to 5:30 p.m.
Monday - Thursday
Open Friday June 3 and July 8
When prior balances are paid by check/web check, the Business Office will not release transcript holds for 7 days. Holds may be released immediately when balances are paid by cash or credit card.
Effective Fall 2015, the MSU Board of Regents authorized a mandatory, one-time $75 Student Orientation Fee for all new and transfer undergraduate students.
Effective with the Fall 2012 semester, Midwestern State University will collect a Remote Teaching Fee of $500. This service is offered as a convenience to students who would prefer to student teach outside the local area.
Effective for tax year 2014, the Business Office will no longer automatically mail 1098-T tax forms to international students. International students must submit a “Request a 1098-T form” and provide a copy of your Social Security Card (not a “Valid for Work Only” card) or ITIN number to the Business Office. Your request will take approximately 3-5 business days to complete.
Information for Exemption and Waiver Recipients
Effective for Fall 2014, the Texas Legislature passed Senate Bill 1210 which states that recipients of Texas state exemptions and/or waivers must now meet Financial Aid’s satisfactory academic progress (SAP) requirement of a grade point average (GPA) of 2.0 for Undergraduates and 3.0 for Graduates. Also, if you are in Excess Hours status, you may not be eligible for some exemptions. In addition, males must be registered for Selective Service. This notice is to inform you that if you do not meet these requirements going into the Spring 2015 semester, you will not be eligible to receive your exemption and/or waiver. If you have questions concerning your eligibility, please contact the Business Office at 940-397-4101.
When you set up a payment/refund profile at www.mwsu.edu/onlinepayments you must login each semester to keep your profile active. If not, your profile will be at risk of being deleted!
The Board of Regent's approved an increase in the University Services Fee from $60.25 to $66.25 and the Student Service Fee from $15.50 to $17.05 per credit hour, effective Fall 2016.
Fixed Rate Designated Tuition Plans: The Board of Regents approved a Fixed Rate Designated Tuition Plan effective Fall 2014. The fixed rate designated tuition plan is designed to provide students and parents with more predictability when paying for college and to encourage more timely graduation within the four years of fixed designated tuition. The plan guarantees that the rates for designated tuition will not increase for students registering by the classifications below. Beginning Fall2014, students reapplying to return to MSU who were not continuing from Spring or Summer 2014 will not be eligible for a fixed rate and will be placed each academic year in the entering rate. Beginning Spring 2015, only new and transfer students will be eligible for fixed rate designated tuition plans.
|FIXED RATE TUITION GROUP||DESIGNATED TUITION AMOUNT PER CREDIT HOUR||CONSECUTIVE SEMESTERS|
|All New Enrolled Students for Fall 2016||$123.85||16- ending Sum II 2020|
|All New Enrolled Student for Summer I and Summer II 2016||$121.40||16 - ending Spring 2020|
|All New Enrolled Students for Spring 2016||$121.40||16- ending Fall 2019|
|All New Enrolled Students for Fall 2015||$121.40||16- ending Sum II 2019|
|All New Enrolled Students for Summer I and Summer II 2015||$119.00||16- ending Spring 2019|
|All New Enrolled Students for Spring 2015||$119.00||16- ending Fall 2018|
|Fall 2014 Transfer Students||$119.00||16- ending Sum II 2018|
|Freshmen & Sophmores- Enrolled Fall 2014||$119.00||15- ending SumII 2018|
|Juniors- Enrolled Fall 2014||$116.50||11- ending Sum II 2017|
|Seniors & Graduates- Enrolled Fall 2014||$114.00||7- ending Sum II 2016|
Following the end of the fixed rate period, the designated tuition rate will default to the current incoming freshman designated tuition rate at the time and will no longer be fixed beyond four consecutive semesters. For semesters after Fall 2014, only new and transfer students will be eligible for 16 semesters of fixed rate designated tuition. Re-enrolling students not enrolled Spring or Summer 2014, who return to MSU will be charged the same designated tuition as the current rate for incoming freshmen each academic year.
There will be a $100 reinstatement fee for students who are voided out of the university system due to non-payment. To be reinstated, students must pay a $25 late registration fee as well as a $100 reinstatement fee plus all tuition owed for the semester from which they were dropped.