Hazlewood Exemption Information for Veterans

The Hazlewood Act (Section 54.203, Texas Education Code) exempts eligible Texas veterans, their children, and spouses from payment of tuition and certain fees at state-supported institutions of higher education. Eligible students are exempt from all tuition and most fees. The student is required to pay student service fees, property deposit fees, late registration fees (if applicable), books, and room and board if living in the dorms. Beginning Fall 1995, there is a 150 credit hour limit on hours attempted using the Hazlewood exemption. 81st Texas Legislative Changes (effective 6/19/2009): Senate Bill 93 authorized new provisions which permit eligible veterans to assign their unused hours to their child. This is known as the "Hazlewood Legacy Act".

Eligibility Requirements

Veterans:

  • Who, at the time of entry into the U.S. Armed Forces:
    • Are Texas residents
    • Designated Texas as Home of Record, or
    • Entered the service in Texas
  • Have served at least 181 days of active military duty, as indicated as "net active service" (the sum of 12(c) and 12(d) on the DD214)
  • Have received an honorable discharge or separation or a general discharge under honorable conditions
  • Have no federal veteran's education benefits, or have federal veterans education benefits dedicated to the payment of tuition and fees only; such as Chapter 33, for term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits (Pell and SEOG Grants are not relevant), and
  • Are not in default on a student loan made or guaranteed by the State of Texas.

Children and Spouses:

  • Of veterans who, at the time of entry into the U.S. Armed Forces:
    • Are Texas residents
    • Designated Texas as Home of Record, or
    • Entered the service in Texas
  • Have a parent or is the spouse of a veteran of the U.S. Armed Forces, Texas National Guard, or Texas Air National Guard who died as a result of servce-related injuries or illness, is missing in action, or became totally disabled for purposes of employability as a result of service-related injury or illness.
  • Have no federal veteran's education benefits, or have federal veterans benefits dedicated to the payment of tution and fees only; such as Chapter 33, for the term or semester enrolled that do not exceed the value of Hazlewood benefits (Pell and SEOG Grants are not relevant), and
  • Are residents of Texas as of the term or semester in which they enroll.

Transferability of Benefits (Legacy Program)

Eligible veterans may assign unused hours of exemption eligibility to a child under certain conditions. To be eligible, the child must:

  • Be a Texas resident
  • Be the biological child, stepchild, adopted child, or claimed as a dependent in the current or previous tax year,
  • Be 25 years or younger on the first day of the semester or term for which the exemption is claimed (unless granted an extension due to qualifying illness or debilitating condition), and
  • Make satisfactory academic progress in a degree, certificate, or continuing education program as determined by the institution.

If a child to whom hours have been delegated fails to use all of the assigned hours, a veteran may re-assign the unused hours that are available to another dependent child.

Veterans' spouses are not eligible to receive a transfer of unused hours.

Application Process

To use Hazlewood benefits or to transfer unused benefits to an eligible child, applicants must complete an application form. Please choose the appropriate application below.

HE-V July 2011 Application for Veterans

HE-D July 2011 Application for Dependents

Veterans must provide proof (DD214) from the Department of Defense regarding their military service and nature of discharge. In addition, both veterans and dependents must also provide proof of eligibility or ineligibility for GI/Montgomery benefits (Chapter 33/Post 911) by requesting an education benefits letter from the VA office in Muskogee, OK at (888) 442-4551 or www.gibill.va.gov. Dependents must provide proof from Dept of Defense or from Veterans Administration regarding parent's death or disability related to service. All applicants must complete the appropriate application (see links above) and submit it to MSU Veterans Affairs office located in Hardin South, Room 101K.

It is your responsibility to call our office to verify your Hazlewood status before payment deadline; call (940) 397-4306 or email veterans.affairs@mwsu.edu.

The Hazlewood Act exempts you from tuition, building use fees, course fees, computer use fees, and any added incidental fees. You will pay the student service fees, property deposit fees, vehicle registration, and late registration fees, if applicable.

You must call the Business Office after you have actually registered for classes. They will enter the exemption coding after you have registered and can advise you of the amount you owe. You must call and have Hazlewood benefits applied by the payment deadline or your registration will be voided for non-payment.

You must complete a new Hazlewood Exemption Application for each semester you plan to use the Hazlewood waiver. It is best to complete this form when you early register for your courses.



1. CHECK ON YOUR Hazlewood STATUS BEFORE PAYMENT DEADLINE DATES.

2. ADVISE THE MSU BUSINESS OFFICE AFTER YOU HAVE REGISTERED FOR CLASSES.